For the birds…

 

Over the last few years I’ve become a very amateur birdwatcher.  I look at birds everywhere I go.  I take pictures of them and try to figure out what they are. I have a bird feeder by the patio and one outside my kitchen window.  I love to watch the cardinals, chickadees, sparrows, and the occasional wren visit the feeder.  I love the indigo buntings that have made an appearance the last two years, and I especially love the red-shouldered hawks I see several times a week on the wires up and down my rural street.

I’m not sure what it is I like about birds.  I’ve never wanted one as a pet.  I just like to look at them.  Maybe it’s because they can fly and I’d love to be able to fly.  I flew in my dreams often when I was a kid.  I wonder where those dreams went.  I don’t have them anymore, but I remember the feeling of freedom I had.  I imagine what it would be like to soar on the breeze, catching the updrafts.  Some birds seem to fly for the sheer joy of it – I love that.

Today I saw a killdeer in the Target parking lot (school supply sales are starting, you know).  This is the bird that will pretend to have a broken wing to lead predators away from its nest.  Killdeers nest on the ground, so I guess it’s no wonder they need a strategy to keep their little ones safe.  I always have a camera in my purse for just such sightings.  Isn’t that a pretty bird?

Happy slicing!

 

Killdeer

This entry was posted in Slice of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to For the birds…

  1. Kate Schwarz says:

    I wrote about birds, too…though not in an appreciative way that you did! Between you and me, we have all perspectives covered! (Well, at least the two extremes!) Cute slice–happy slicing and happy birding to you.

  2. K. Renae P. says:

    It is a pretty bird. Have you ever gone on an organized bird watching tour?

Leave a Reply

